The broad content of the topics covered is made possible by the collaboration a large number of scientists and institutes with complementary expertise in the area of future mobility systems. The High Performance Center Profilregion Mobilitätssysteme Karlsruhe has brought the partners closer together through the cross-institutional initialization projects, thus fostering a culture of collegial exchange.

The founding partners of the Profilregion are: Fraunhofer-institutes ICT, IOSB, ISI and IWM, the Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences (HsKA), the FZI Research Center for Information Technology, and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).


In addition to this scientific core, industrial partners, ranging from medium-sized to large companies, are  integrated in order to enable a bilateral transfer of knowledge between academic research and industry and help to transfer scientific inventions into innovations.

The following list encompasses all the research institutions that are involved in the Profilregion Mobilitätssysteme Karlsruhe. 

 ORGANISATION  Contact Person
 FZI - Forschungszentrum Informatik  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann Marius Zöllner
 Fraunhofer-Institut für Chemische Technologie ICT  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Elsner
 Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung IOSB  Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Jürgen Beyerer
 Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI  Prof. Dr. Marion Weissenberger-Eibl
 Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoffmechanik IWM  Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch
 HsKA - Hochschule Karlsruhe Technik und Wirtschaft  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Franz Quint
 HsKA - Institut für energieeffiziente Mobilität (IEEM)  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reiner Kriesten
 HsKA - Institut für Klima-, Kälte- und Umwelttechnik (IKKU)  Prof. Dr. Maurice Kettner
 KIT ECON - Netzwerkökonomie  Prof. Dr. Kay Mitusch
 KIT ETI - Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEV)  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Doppelbauer
 KIT FAST - Institutsteil Fahrzeugtechnik     Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Frank Gauterin
 KIT FAST - Institutsteil Leichtbautechnologie    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning
 KIT IAM-WK - Hybride Werkstoffe und Leichtbau  Prof. (apl.) Dr.-Ing. Kay André Weidenmann
 KIT IESL - Internationaler Städtebau / International Urban Design  Prof. Dr. Barbara Engel
 KIT IFAB - Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft und Betriebsorganisation  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Barbara Deml
 KIT IFKM - Institut für Kolbenmaschinen  Prof. Dr. sc. techn. Thomas Koch
 KIT IfV - Institut für Verkehrswesen  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Vortisch
 KIT IHE - Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Zwick
 KIT IIP - Lehrstuhl für Energiewirtschaft  Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Wolf Fichtner
 KIT IKFT - Institut für Katalyseforschung und -technologie  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Sauer
 KIT IPEK - Institut für Produktentwicklung  Univ. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h. c. Albert Albers
 KIT IRS - Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sören Hohmann
 KIT ITAS - Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse    Prof. Dr. Armin Grunwald
 KIT ITIV - Eingebettete elektronische Systeme  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h. c. Jürgen Becker
 KIT ITIV - Systems Engineering  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eric Sax
 KIT KASTEL - Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Sicherheitstechnologie  Prof. Dr. Jörn Müller-Quade
 KIT KSRI - Karlsruhe Service Research Institute  Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Wolf Fichtner
 KIT MRT - Institut für Mess- und Regelungstechnik  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christoph Stiller
 WBK - Maschinen, Anlagen und Prozessautomatisierung (MAP)  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Fleischer